Food, in a blog

I was going to make this post yesterday, but I came home to a broken computer. (Note: Still broken. Grrrrr)  So, today I’m going to cover this tough topic.

My ability to eat breakfast depends on 2 factors- how far behind I am in getting ready and how many dished there are. If there’s a lot of dishes already or if I’m behind, I eat a Breakfast to go on the way to work. I love these because they come in an easy pouch to eat and they are easy on the budget. The box has a coupon on it and I save those up until there’s a good sale. I pay about $1.50 a box. They’re a mixture of granola, dried fruit, almonds, and stuff. The type I have at work has 190 calories, 7g of fat, 29g of Carbs, 2g of fiber, and 3g of protein. Not the greatest, but it’s a good kick start for the day. I try to only eat a pouch a day. Sometimes I’m successful, sometimes I’m not.

If I do eat breakfast, it’s some type of cereal with almond milk. I cannot praise the deliciousness of almond milk enough. Just go to the grocery store and get some Almond Breeze Vanilla. Seriously. Do that tonight. The cereal I am currently eating is Post Shredded Wheat Lightly Frosted. It’s not as sweet as other wheat cereals, but it has just enough to make it yummy.

 

Happiness in a carton

 

Now for work! I love to eat fruit and yogurt. I bring 2 light or fruit on the bottoms a day. Occasionally I’ll eat a greek yogurt if it’s on sale. Told you I’m cheap. If berries or cherries are on sale, I’ll eat them. I usually will snack on a pound or so a day. I’ll also eat grapefruit, oranges, or apples throughout the day. Last week strawberries were on sale, so I ate a pound a day. This week nothing was on sale, so I ate apples.

 

Get in my belly!

 

For my actual lunch, I have been bringing in Lean Cuisines because I’ve been lazy at home. They aren’t too satisfying, but they stave off hunger enough. Today, I was out of Lean Cuisines, so I went out for lunch. I work in a nice suburb and there are tons of office buildings around. The amount of greasy, fried junk is overwhelming. Most of the time that stuff is tempting. It’s so close and easy to eat Taco Bell! Luckily, the grocery store has a prepared foods section that includes a salad bar (see yesterday’s pic). There’s also a local (and superior!) version of Whole Foods that also has a prepared section. But anyways, today I went to my other back up- Subway. I get the footlong ham and cheese on wheat. I get lettuce, cucumbers, and black olives with a single line of light mayo to hold it all together. I always ask for extra cucumbers since I love them so much.

I switch back and forth between coffee and water throughout the day. Occasionally I mix it up with some Crystal Light. I also try to avoid all the birthday cake, leftover holiday candy, and candy for sale from my co workers.

When I get home, I tied myself over with a Green Giant veggie box of some sort until my hubby gets home. Then, it’s a crap shoot.

I hope this general overview is insightful. Maybe eventually I will post literally what I have eaten in one day. Maybe. Food Journaling is not one of my talents.

About taureanfreak

I am a 29 year old working in a job I love. I have a host of physical ailments from injuries- seriously, I'm like an old woman. I am trying to find happiness by changing what I do in life. Mostly that entails eating better and moving more. I also love learning for the sake of learning. The quote below is from Lord of the Rings and sums up how I feel. "What more do you want to know?" "The names of all the stars, and of all living things, and the whole history of Middle-Earth, and Over-heaven, and of the Sundering Seas. Of course! What else?" -The Two Towers
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

