OMG, what did I get myself into?

My coworker and I were talking about different diet plans and I was telling her about the Paleo diet. Turns out that someone in her office (we’re in different locations) has had great success with Paleo. So, we decided to start on a Paleo diet for 30 days. We’re also going to work out on our own. This all begins on May 1st, right before my birthday. Heaven help me! Here is my plan for eating (mostly) Paleo:

Week 1 (May 1st-5th) – I can have 3 servings of dairy and 2 serving of grain for the first week. Peas are allowed. Everything else is Paleo.

Week 2 and 3 (May 6th-19th) – I can have 1 serving of dairy and no grains for the week. Peas are allowed. Everything else is Paleo.

Week 4 and 5 (May 20th-31st) – I can have 1 serving of grain and 1 serving of dairy for Memorial Weekend. Potatoes are allowed, in extreme moderation. Everything else is Paleo.

I am going to switch to tea and then eventually cut that out. I am such a huge coffee fiend that it will be hard. I am also going to aim for 70oz. of water a day. I am currently at 30-40oz, which is a huge improvement over none. I am using an app to remind me to drink water every hour. No matter what, I take a few sips or down what I have- depending on how much I have drank for the day.

Now for the exercise part! I have found that it is easier (on me, my time, and my body) to add a minute to my daily work walk than it is to do an extra minute of Wii. I’m using a stop watch to monitor how long I am walking for. Right now, I’m at around 12 minutes each time (both breaks). On Monday, I’m aiming for 13 each time. Tuesday will be 14, Wednesday will be 15. Thursday, I’ll sneak in a 10 minute walk during lunch in addition to my (2) 15 minute walks. At night, I’ll do at least 10 minutes of Wii fit exercises or clean the house. If I’m really adventurous, or if I can take it, I’ll do both.

Finally, my body- I went to the podiatrist today. He took some additional x-rays and put some spongy foam pads on my left foot and wrapped it all up. I have to keep a diary of how my foot feels and I’m seeing him again next Friday. I am hoping that he prescribed orthotics for me and I can happily hike, walk, or whatever else to my heart’s delight.

About taureanfreak

I am a 29 year old working in a job I love. I have a host of physical ailments from injuries- seriously, I'm like an old woman. I am trying to find happiness by changing what I do in life. Mostly that entails eating better and moving more. I also love learning for the sake of learning. The quote below is from Lord of the Rings and sums up how I feel. "What more do you want to know?" "The names of all the stars, and of all living things, and the whole history of Middle-Earth, and Over-heaven, and of the Sundering Seas. Of course! What else?" -The Two Towers
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to OMG, what did I get myself into?

  1. allyson says:

    Yay Kim! Let’s do this thing!

  2. I like how you are easing into the paleo diet instead of going all in at once. Good luck with it.

Leave a Reply

