Highs and Lows

I know, I know. I’ve been a bad little Kimmi and I haven’t been blogging! Oh the shame! Well right now, I’m making a commitment. I’m blogging at least 3 times a week while I am doing my 6 week challenge (in Week 3).

So, about today. I started with an email from THE Mr. Steve Kamb in response to the email I sent him last week. I’ll admit it, I freaked the eff out. Of course I immediately responded back. That was my high. I was bouncing around.

The low was really low. My dad has dementia caused by his alcoholism. Alcohol blocks B vitamins from being absorbed into the body. B vitamins run your brain and nerves. No B vitamins= messed up brain and nerves. For almost 4 years now I have been my father’s legal guardian. He lives in a very nice nursing home.

I had to speak to the Social Worker, Head of Nursing, and Executive Director about my father today because his violence has been escalating. In fact, while we were talking, he was at the local psych ward while they played with his meds to see if that would help. If he continues to be violent, then he will have to be moved to another facility. I don’t want that to happen, but he cannot hit other people whenever!

I left the nursing home feeling like crap and almost stopped 3 or 4 times to get something to eat. Yes, I was hungry, but my lunch was waiting for me at work. I made it safely to work with no emotional eating! I still feel crappy whenever I think about it, so I’m choosing that to think about it anymore. šŸ™‚

About taureanfreak

I am a 29 year old working in a job I love. I have a host of physical ailments from injuries- seriously, I'm like an old woman. I am trying to find happiness by changing what I do in life. Mostly that entails eating better and moving more. I also love learning for the sake of learning. The quote below is from Lord of the Rings and sums up how I feel. "What more do you want to know?" "The names of all the stars, and of all living things, and the whole history of Middle-Earth, and Over-heaven, and of the Sundering Seas. Of course! What else?" -The Two Towers
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Highs and Lows

  1. Betsy Richter says:

    Aw, Kim – as the daughter of an alcoholic father as well, I commend you for standing by him (I wasn’t nearly strong enough to do that myself; instead choosing to physically move away/otherwise distance myself).

    Congrats on resisting falling into the ’emotional eating’ trap. Is there a less toxic activity you can use to replace the eating when stress hits? Identify it, then move to the Plan B approach next time around.

    I wish nothing but calmness for you right now…

  2. I can understand where you’re at with the wanting to eat according to your emotions. I’ve been there, and I am there now. My stressor is also my dad’s behavior. Just hang in the, Hon. You can call me to vent anytime. I’m very happy for you that you’ve managed to fight it. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

