The walk from Heck

Oh My Goodness

For the Nerd Fitness Week 3 Challenge, we had to choose one of four different options. Bike, swim, walk, or do a bunch of crazy exercises. I chose walking. I had to walk, run, whatever a 5k aka 3.125 miles. I chose a new path that the internet said was a 3 mile loop. We get there and find the path and begin. There are lots of hills and it’s a nice walk that’s not easy.  The woods were beautiful and peaceful. There were birds, a raccoon, and a toad. We saw about 6 deer, but I was only able to “shoot” two of them.

A doe

A doe

 

Another doe

Another doe

But there was a problem. That 3 mile loop- it didn’t happen. There may have been a loop, there was a fork in the path a mile in, but I guess I chose the wrong fork. My husband and I walked 3.26 miles and I realized the path wasn’t looping back. My feet and ankles were starting to hurt and I was getting tired. Plus, the water was in the car. We decided to head back once I checked Google Maps and confirmed that we were much farther than I anticipated. The way back was hell. My feet were killing me, and I was too exhausted to watch where I was going. My ankles held out as I slipped over twigs and roots I should have avoided. I thought I was going to pass out a view times, but eventually we stopped for a bit. I got up to keep going since I knew I had to get water in me quickly. My husband said it looked like I was going to die. I kept putting one foot in front of the other until I looked up and saw it. In between the trees I saw the white beacon of happiness- my car. Eventually, I’ll do that path again but not anytime soon.

About taureanfreak

I am a 29 year old working in a job I love. I have a host of physical ailments from injuries- seriously, I'm like an old woman. I am trying to find happiness by changing what I do in life. Mostly that entails eating better and moving more. I also love learning for the sake of learning. The quote below is from Lord of the Rings and sums up how I feel. "What more do you want to know?" "The names of all the stars, and of all living things, and the whole history of Middle-Earth, and Over-heaven, and of the Sundering Seas. Of course! What else?" -The Two Towers
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The walk from Heck

  1. Stein says:

    I feel that way after my 12th trip to.the buffet- can never make that 13th trip! Start keeping white lights, that pain in your side starts to kick in…… One of these days ill do it, one of these days….

  2. Next time, Honey, carry a bottle of water with you. They do come with clip on straps now. Silly thing, don’t you be going and hurting yourself!

  3. QueenBee says:

    Love your blog!

    I am so proud of you that you did all that! You know how disastrous my attempt at the 5K challenge was 😉

Leave a Reply

