Fat Girl

So, my husband and I were doing a late night walk around the area. We passed a bar during the final leg (I was swinging my arms and not walking straight- stupid pain). As we are walking away, the drunks start calling,”Left, Left, Left Right, Left.” I said that the drunk just saw some fat girl walking and decided to have some fun. Then, my husband said something kinda weird. “You know, you’ve never considered yourself part of the ‘fat girl’ culture.”

He’s right. I’ve been fat off and on my whole life and more fat than healthy. I call myself fat, because I am, but I don’t think of myself as a BBW. I don’t think of myself as someone who is fat and I embrace it. I think of myself as someone that is currently fat, but doesn’t have to be. If I would clean up my act, I would stop being fat.

It’s an interesting perspective. When I go clothes shopping, I try to find something cute, but I think of it as temporary. I won’t wear it forever because it will become too big. Very few times I have thought I was stuck in my weight, but that was during…. wait for it…. pain.

Otherwise, I look at this as temporary. I am losing weight and as I lose weight, I will be healthier. I will be stronger. I will be even more kick ass. It’s this outlook that separates me from so many other women that are the same size as me.

About taureanfreak

I am a 29 year old working in a job I love. I have a host of physical ailments from injuries- seriously, I'm like an old woman. I am trying to find happiness by changing what I do in life. Mostly that entails eating better and moving more. I also love learning for the sake of learning. The quote below is from Lord of the Rings and sums up how I feel. "What more do you want to know?" "The names of all the stars, and of all living things, and the whole history of Middle-Earth, and Over-heaven, and of the Sundering Seas. Of course! What else?" -The Two Towers
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fat Girl

  1. I really really like that last paragraph, and it’s what got me started over a year ago. That where I was: temporary. And only I could make it so, so I’d better get busy already!

  2. taureanfreak says:

    Betsy, you are absolutely awesome. I love reading your blogs, posts, and tweets.

Leave a Reply

