Banana Ice Cream

Today was a fun day. We went to a party with the hubby’s family. I was fairly good, considering. I had chicken with BBQ sauce, fresh mozzarella, a mixed greens salad with balsamic vinaigrette, corn on the cob, and fresh berries. I also had 3 bites of corn souffle, 3 cucumber slices on bread thingies, and a couple raviolis. Considering the options I had, including CAKE, I think I did OK. The only thing I drank was water.

After that party, we went to another. I didn’t eat anything because it was all prepackaged stuff, and I managed to grab the last water bottle. It was just too hot to only drink 1 bottle of water and grabbing some cold water out of the kitchen wasn’t an option (it just wasn’t, don’t ask). After a debate, I gave in and had 2 sodas. Full HFCS sodas because the only other option was to drink diet. Diet soda is deadly, so I’ll go with the pig fattener one.

Now that I’m home, it’s banana ice cream making time. I know, after earlier I should be extra careful, but a bunch of this is for my friend who loves chunky monkey. And, it’s FREAKING HOT! So, here is what I did.

I took a bunch of bananas, about 8, peeled and cut them up. I stuck them in the freezer until they were nice and cold. I also put some crushed pineapple in the freezer to chill. I want to try something new, but for my friend’s batch, she’ll get the pure stuff.

Sliced Bananas- You can see meat in the background

I put the bananas and some coconut milk in the blender. I pulsed it until it had the texture of soft serve. I find that I have to stop and move stuff around with a spatula a few times in order to make it work. If you have a food processor, this might be easier.

Completed Banana Ice Cream. You can see the type of coconut milk I used.

For my batch, I used some pineapple juice and the crushed pineapple in addition to the coconut milk and bananas.

Completed Banana-Pineapple Ice Cream. Again you can see the ingredients as well.

Once it has the right consistency, either eat it right away, or put it in the freezer. If you do freeze it, it will have to thaw a bit before you eat it. Frozen banana ice cream is much harder than real ice cream. Enjoy!

About taureanfreak

I am a 29 year old working in a job I love. I have a host of physical ailments from injuries- seriously, I'm like an old woman. I am trying to find happiness by changing what I do in life. Mostly that entails eating better and moving more. I also love learning for the sake of learning. The quote below is from Lord of the Rings and sums up how I feel. "What more do you want to know?" "The names of all the stars, and of all living things, and the whole history of Middle-Earth, and Over-heaven, and of the Sundering Seas. Of course! What else?" -The Two Towers
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Banana Ice Cream

  1. Cleo says:

    Nicely done on party self-control! Your banana ice-cream sounds delicious.

  2. taureanfreak says:

    You should try it. Especially if there is an Asian grocery store near by. Coconut milk is around half the price as a regular grocery store.

Leave a Reply

