Snails and Lunches

There are some new additions to the Kim household. One of my husband’s snails (long story, but he bought them so they are his) turned out to be a female and laid a ton of eggs. Most didn’t make it, but a few did and now we have teeny tiny babe snails! They are too tiny to show you now, but once they are bigger I can!

For LUC, we have to cook a healthy meal for ourselves and we have use a new food or technique or something. It just has to be new. I tried a ton of foods, techniques, and flavor combos, but noteverything. Roasting vegetables is fairly new to me, so I decided to do that with one of my favorite veggies- broccoli. I also wanted to make something I could eat with the broccoli I made, so I made some chicken fajitas.

The broccoli was easy. I looked online for some recipes to get an idea of oven temps and what not. I ended up using a foil lined cookie sheet with the oven set for 450*F. I dumped on them on sheet, drizzled them with olive oil, and topped it off with some S&P. I almost forgot to set a timer (I saw a recipe said 20 minutes), so my timer was set for 17 minutes. When 2 minutes were left, I could really smell the broccoli and took it out. I think I over cooked it. It doesn’t matter though- it still smelled good! I ate a few pieces and I think next time I’ll lower the temp a bit and cut down the time a few minutes. I will also shake it around while it’s in the oven.

Roasted Broccoli

On to the chicken fajitas. I cannot stand peppers, so I just cut them out of the standard fajita recipe. I used, chicken breasts, onion, coconut oil, lemon and lime juices, Salt, garlic, cumin, and a blackening seasoning that turned out to have more cumin. I tried cooking everything together, but the onions were not caramelized– only soft. So I took out the chicken and cooked the onions more. It has a little too much cumin and is too spicy for me (I am not a huge fan of spicy). I think I’ll buy some sour cream tomorrow to cool it down. I’m not in the mood for avocado (and it’s more expensive).

Yum

I split everything up into 2 meals. For lunch I will be eating (not including the sour cream) a 823 calorie lunch. It will be broken up by 45g fat/ 21g carbs/ 86g protein. Considering today I’ve only eaten about 900 calories, this will be an improvement. YAY!

About taureanfreak

I am a 29 year old working in a job I love. I have a host of physical ailments from injuries- seriously, I'm like an old woman. I am trying to find happiness by changing what I do in life. Mostly that entails eating better and moving more. I also love learning for the sake of learning. The quote below is from Lord of the Rings and sums up how I feel. "What more do you want to know?" "The names of all the stars, and of all living things, and the whole history of Middle-Earth, and Over-heaven, and of the Sundering Seas. Of course! What else?" -The Two Towers
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snails and Lunches

  1. Cleo says:

    Roasted broccoli is the best, best way to eat broccoli, it is SO GOOD. I love to hit it with a squeeze of lemon, but honestly I’ve even served roasted broccoli to guest with fancier toppings than just lemon (bacon, tapenade, browned onion, roasted garlic, parmesan, to name a fwe) and no one has ever complained. At least not to my face 🙂

Leave a Reply

