Geocaching

Sorry everyone that I disappeared last week. I was feeling like all I had to talk about was my pain. Who want to read about that? I was talking with a fellow gimp, Christi, about this and she pointed something out. Maybe, somewhere on the internet somewhere, someone is going through the same thing I am or was. Maybe they need to hear that someone else has gone through or is going through what I am. So I will tell you what is going on, no matter what.

Well, I want to talk to you about Geocaching. If you don’t know what it is, it’s like a modern day treasure hunt. Somebody hides a cache (treasure) and puts the GPS coordinates online for people to find. There’s a log book and you can take a piece of the treasure if you leave a piece for someone else. I learned about this from a video where Hank Green goes Geocaching and talks about fun. I loved the idea: hiking+ treasure hunting= win win!

As part of the Level Up Club, I had to choose a new healthy thing to do and I chose geocaching. This past weekend, I decided to finally do it. I found 2 caches and it was fun! That part of the brain that lives for reward definitely got it.  I did take a photo of the second cache I found. It was tiny!
Now this cute little guy was attached to a metal support beam (same color) for the picnic table I placed it on. It was held there with a magnetic. See what I mean about hidden tresure?!

I cannot wait to do this again. It was so much fun.

About taureanfreak

I am a 29 year old working in a job I love. I have a host of physical ailments from injuries- seriously, I'm like an old woman. I am trying to find happiness by changing what I do in life. Mostly that entails eating better and moving more. I also love learning for the sake of learning. The quote below is from Lord of the Rings and sums up how I feel. "What more do you want to know?" "The names of all the stars, and of all living things, and the whole history of Middle-Earth, and Over-heaven, and of the Sundering Seas. Of course! What else?" -The Two Towers
This entry was posted in Adventure, Exercise, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Geocaching

  1. Bill Chance says:

    Back when GPS units were really expensive, I’d read about GeoCaching and wish I could do it. Now that GPS is everywhere, I’ve never gone out and looked for one. Thanks for reminding me – I might try one this weekend (anything for a blog entry, right).

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. Hi Kim! I use to go geocaching all the time. I stopped when gas started getting so dang high. You are right…..it is a ton of fun! Here in Houston, there is a geocaching society and there are meetups so you can meet fellow geocachers. There are even events that you can attend and some of them involve geocaching together! Even more fun! Enjoy your new found hobby! Don’t forget to log your finds! : )

  3. taureanfreak says:

    Thanks! I actually found out that my neighbors geocache and there is a very active local group. I kinda lucked out there!
    If you have a smartphone, Bill, that would work as well. The GPS isn’t as exact, but I have gotten close enough to get the rest of the way.

Leave a Reply

