Back in the Dojo

Today, I walked back into my dojo. I haven’t been back in over 5 years and that was one visit. I watched at the class ended and I talked to Sensei Jim for a bit and caught up with him. He is one of the nicest, sweetest guys on the face of the planet. The dojo’s look has changed,but it still has the same energy. It made me feel so relaxed and comfortable, I just wanted to step on the mats and do a Kata.

Afterwards, I did some quick “shopping” aka try on clothes to see if I can fit into a smaller size. Almost!

I met up with someone I used to study with, Raphael. He’s now a 3rd degree black belt. I have to say, he has grown up to be pretty bad ass. We talked for about 2 hours and while we caught up, it was mostly about karate and the people we used to study with. How they are now, if they ever made it to black belt, etc. We talked about the dojo and how it has changed and grown. We talked about injuries too. I asked him about my coming back and what suggestions could he give me. He said that my weight loss is the most important thing. Once I am back, take it easy. Don’t try to go balls to the walls and ease into it.

This has made my goal of getting back into the dojo and actually training that much more important. I want it so badly!

About taureanfreak

I am a 29 year old working in a job I love. I have a host of physical ailments from injuries- seriously, I'm like an old woman. I am trying to find happiness by changing what I do in life. Mostly that entails eating better and moving more. I also love learning for the sake of learning. The quote below is from Lord of the Rings and sums up how I feel. "What more do you want to know?" "The names of all the stars, and of all living things, and the whole history of Middle-Earth, and Over-heaven, and of the Sundering Seas. Of course! What else?" -The Two Towers
This entry was posted in Exercise, Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back in the Dojo

  1. Curly Miri says:

    The ‘dojo’ part of your post caught my attention. I love watching people do Kata, a beautiful art form. I wish you all the best as you move forward.

Leave a Reply

